RCMP officers awarded medals

RCMP officers awarded medals


Corporal Mike Field of the Oliver RCMP is one of 14 South Okanagan officers awarded medals for their tremendous work in making Canada a safer place to live.
Mounties and auxiliary constables from Penticton and South Okanagan detachments were presented awards of distinction on October 17 in Vernon.
Both Cpl. Field and Cpl. Jason Bayda from the Osoyoos detachment received a Queens Diamond Jubilee medal for their exemplary work in the community.
Field was told that he was specifically nominated for his work with Scouts Canada and local youth.
“It was a great honour to be nominated and an even greater honour to be chosen to receive the award,” Field said. “There are certainly others whom I feel are more deserving, but it certainly is a good feeling to be recognized for what you do.”
Bayda said he was quite humbled to find out he had been nominated. 
“I am told it was in recognition of my accomplishments in building relationships between the RCMP and the community while I was stationed in Lytton, BC from 2007 to 2009.”
When the officer arrived in Lytton the relationship between the police and the First Nations was somewhat strained due to some previous events. 
“I met a lot of wonderful people there and felt very welcomed by the community,” said Bayda, who had the honour of attending several Powwows as well as other events put on by the First Nations.
These are the friendships that he will cherish for a lifetime.  
To celebrate her Diamond Jubilee Anniversary as Queen, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II ordered that a commemorative medal be struck and presented to Canadians. The RCMP was allotted 2,300 medals to award to deserving regular and civilian members, 136 to public service employees and 64 to be presented to auxiliaries.
The following are other local award winners:
Corporal Bryce Petersen from South Okanagan Traffic Services (30-year long service medal); Cpl. Dave Cramm from South Okanagan Traffic Services (25-year long service medal); Cst Phil Fry from South Okanagan Traffic Services (30-year long service medal); Auxiliary Cst Troyce Beglaw from the Keremeos detachment (Queens Diamond Jubilee medal); retired Cst. Beth Graham from Penticton detachment (20-year long service medal); Cst Laura Hirst from Penticton detachment (Queens Diamond Jubilee medal); Inspector Brad Haugli from Penticton South Okanagan regional detachment (20-year long service medal); Cpl. Brad Myhre from Penticton detachment, (commanding officers commendation for 20-year long service); Cpl. Bruce Haley from Summerland (30-year long service medal); Cst. Bruce McDowall from Penticton (30-year long service medal); S/Sgt. Dave Fayle (35-year long service medal); and
Sgt. Dave Clare (Queens Diamond Jubilee medal and 30-year long service medal).


For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.