New school trustees sworn in

New school trustees sworn in

School District 53's new Board of Education was sworn in at their meeting on Tuesday. Back row, from left: Secretary/Treasurer Subramanian Paliappa, Casey Brouwer, Brenda Dorosz, Superintendent Beverly Young, Rachel Allenbrand, Janice Stevens. Front row, from left: Debra Martin, Rob Zandee and Myrna Coates. (Vanessa Broadbent photo)

Two new faces have officially joined School District 53’s Board of Education when the recently elected trustees took their oath of office on Tuesday afternoon.

New comers Brenda Dorosz from Osoyoos and Janice Stevens from Okanagan Falls joined incumbents Rob Zandee and Rachel Allenbrand from Oliver, Casey Brouwer from Osoyoos, and Debra Martin and Myrna Coates from Keremeos.

The board voted to retain Zandee as chair, and also take on the role of BC Public School Employers’ Association representative. Marten will be vice chair, as well as BC School Trustee’s Association representative.

The trustees now serve a four year term, with the next election happening in 2022.