As clocks ‘spring forward’ on Sunday, MLA Larson still hopes to abolish...

As clocks ‘spring forward’ on Sunday, MLA Larson still hopes to abolish the practice

MLA Linda Larson wants B.C. to stay on standard time all year round, eliminating the twice yearly clock changes. (Richard McGuire photo)

By Richard McGuire

Special to the Chronicle

The clocks move forward this Sunday to give most B.C. residents an extra hour of daylight in the evening, but MLA Linda Larson is still hoping that becomes a thing of the past.

Daylight Savings Time officially starts at 2 a.m. on Sunday, March 11 when the clocks “spring forward” to become 3 a.m.

Larson reintroduced her private member’s bill on Feb. 21 that would keep the clocks on standard time year-round.

Her bill, now known as M201, was the first private member’s bill introduced after the legislature resumed last month when the slate of old bills was wiped clean.

The B.C. Liberal MLA for Boundary-Similkameen said she has no idea whether the NDP government of John Horgan will pick up her bill. This would be necessary for the bill to move forward.

Horgan said in the fall that he received thousands of emails from people commenting on the time change and he said the government would make a decision “when it’s appropriate.”

Larson said she’s still receiving positive feedback on her bill from people who aren’t happy with the twice-yearly clock changes.

In September, the City of Grand Forks put forward a resolution at the Union of B.C. Municipalities asking the province to consider abolishing Daylight Savings Time.

Grand Forks is in Larson’s constituency and she agreed to introduce a bill in the legislature.

Larson first introduced her bill in November, after clocks changed to Standard Time, but it had to be reintroduced when the legislature began a new session.

She argues that the time changes have negative health impacts and result in a lack of productivity, causing economic losses.

Daylight Savings Times was adopted in 1918 as an energy conservation measure.

Most of Canada and the United States makes the twice-yearly clock changes, but there are exceptions including most of Saskatchewan and Arizona, which remain on Standard Time all year round.


For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.